The village is situated in the valley of the river Blythe, which runs through the village green. The attractive parish church, St Mary, was largely rebuilt in 1878 as a flint faced building. More significantly the extraordinary Old Chapel was adapted from a 16th century farmhouse in 1689 by local puritans and still contains various 18th century pine box pews and is now recognised as a unique religious building though it closed to worshippers in 1970.
The existence of Marlinspike Hall (see gallery) suggests that at least one Walpole resident is a fan of Hergé's famous boy reporter Tintin. (The hall was evidently given this name fairly recently; the 1977 OS map shows it as "The Gables").
The village was recorded in Domesday as "Walpola" or "Walepola".
The 1844 White's Directory also lists a beer house run by James White (& gardener).
The 1855 White's Directory also lists a beer house run by James White (& gardener).
The 1865 Kelly's Directory also lists George Davy and Philip Stanford (& cabinet maker) as beer retailers.