Although the government has now allowed pubs to reopen, many are still unable to do so safely, while most if not all are only able to accommodate limited numbers of customers. Many of them are still reliant on providing takeaway food and/or drinks. Some offer deliveries, while others are selling from the premises. This page lists details of those we know about.
If you can give any of our pubs some support through these difficult times by buying some takeaway food or drink, please do so. Our pubs need as much support as possible if they're going to still be there for us when the crisis is over.
Darsham's main population centre is tucked away a little way off the A12, as is the pub. The railway station is to the south of the village centre, adjacent to the level crossing on the A12. The village was recorded in Domesday variously as "Dersham", "Dersam" and "Diresham".
A grey lady is reputed to haunt the churchyard. Priory farm rents out cycles for those wishing to explore the area at a leisurely pace.
A post mill was erected on Priory Lane in 1801. It stopped work in 1929 and was mostly demolished in 1937; remaining parts now form part of a home.
In the 1844 White's Directory, a beer house is listed being run by George Thurrell (taylor). [The 1841 and 1851 censuses show George Thurrell as a tailor in High Street and High Street Burstill Green, respectively.]
The 1851 Census lists Henry Day (Licensed Brewer, High Street, not named, Head/Widower/63y/born Theberton) [Henry Day is at the Fox in 1841 and 1844].
In the 1855 White's Directory, a beer house is listed being run by Jno. Thurrell (taylor). [The 1861 census shows John Thurrell as a tailor in High Street.]
Some historical information from English Heritage's National Monuments Record.