Earl Stonham

Photo from Earl Stonham

1 ancient pub

Ancient pubs are defined as those which are believed to have closed before the middle of the 19th century.

Useful links

Population (2011) of Earl Stonham: 629.

Local licensing authority for Earl Stonham is Mid Suffolk.

Overview | Gallery | Historical info | Map

About Earl Stonham

Earl Stonham is a scattered settlement based around three ancient greens. The village is also sometimes known as Stonham Earl. It appears on John Speed's 1610 map as "Erle┼┐tonham". The church has some medieval wall paintings and a unique hourglass.

The Shepherd & Dog is located in a small hamlet called Forward Green, as was the Cricketers.

Ichiban, based at Church Farm, is the largest sushi producer in Europe.

A Romano-British settlement has been unearthed in fields between Forward Green and Stonham Parva.

Derelict 19th century malthouses near the former Stonham Parva Brewer's Arms show that malting must have been a sizeable business here in the past.


Some historical information from English Heritage's National Monuments Record.