grid reference TM 180 441Something we've got wrong about this establishment? Something more you think we should know about it? Please email us
CAMRA Ipswich & East Suffolk branch.last updated 30/12/2019
Ipswich Blooming Fuchsiahistorical closure era: 21st century
opened about 1870
closed November 2009
167 Foxhall Rd, IP3 8LB
This had a large single bar with an adjoining conservatory overlooking an enclosed garden.
This was, as far as can be ascertained, the only pub of this name in the entire country.
It finally closed its doors for the last time in late November 2009 after sporadic opening and closing over several years. The building has been demolished and replaced with six houses. Following a campaign by local Camra members, it's a condition of the planning permission that the unique tiled sign should be preserved and displayed on a wall of the development for as long as it stands. This was put back in place in April 2011.
Originally only a beerhouse, the pub was first recorded in 1862. According to one source, it was granted a full license in 1896. However, according to the Borough Police licensed premises register 1903-1923, the Colchester Brewery Company gave up the licenses of the Orwell House and Eagle Tavern in exchange for a full license here in 1903.
Edward William Goodwin is known to have run the pub as early as (maybe earlier than) 1881. It took him many attempts (between 1881 and 1896) to obtain a full license for the then beerhouse.
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)