Local licensing authority for Bury St Edmunds is West Suffolk
Old Cannon brewery
St Edmund's Head pub opened in 1845 with its own brewery. Brewing ceased in 1917 and Greene King closed the pub in 1995. It re-opened in 1999 complete with a unique state of the art brewery housed in the bar area. This new brewery was founded by Richard Eaton-Jones (who also previously helped to set-up St Peters brewery) upon re-opening of this town centre pub. Michael and Judith Shallow brought the freehold of the business in late 2006. They fully refurbished the pub whilst retaining the brewery in the bar. The lease of the business was purchased in June 2011 by Garry Clark of Anglia Pub Company who now runs the business with his wife Hannah.
The Old Cannon Brewery brews once, sometimes twice a week so visitors may sometimes find Tris brewing whilst they are eating their lunch! Their core beers, that are always available over the bar or as off-sales are Best Bitter and Gunner's Daughter. Other seasonal ales include: Rusty Gun, Hornblower, Bow Chaser, Brass Monkey, Black Pig and of course St Edmunds Head which is brewed annually to celebrate St Edmunds Day. All beers (when in stock) are available for off sales and are distributed to a number of outlets across East Anglia. Beers are also bottled and available for sale over the bar. Full details of all their beers are available at www.oldcannonbrewery.co.uk on the drink page.