A small village situated off the Ufford to Wickham Market road, located "behind" the Three Tuns. The settlement was granted a market charter in 1253 however the market had amalgamated with Wickham Market by the 17th cent. The area around the church originally belonged to two manors - the Manor of Wicham Harpole Gelham and Byng ( Benge Byng) and the Manor of Loudham.
The village appears on John Speed's 1610 map as "Petistrie"
The hamlet of Loudham on the east side of the A12 has a picturesque 16th cent. Mill and ornamental lake.