Real Ale is sold here.
The Green, CO10 8BA
grid reference TL 805 464
Picturesque 15th century pub close to village duck pond. The building dates from the 17th century. Mainly food dominated with all tables laid out for dining. There is a small area in front of the bar for drinkers. Just 3 bar stools no other seating.
Nearest railway station
The pub is shown on this old OS map from about 1902 (interactive map)
Historically may be listed as a family & commercial hotel & posting house.
A brewery was also listed as being located here in the late 19th century.
A Commission of Bankruptcy is issued against William Golding, hay jobber, farmer, dealer and chapman, and being declared bankrupt, is required to surrender himself to the Commissioners on 21 Oct 1815 at the house of John Beeston, called the Half Moon Inn, at Clare, and on 18 Nov 1815 at the house of Mary Parmenter, called the George at Cavendish. Ipswich Journal, Oct 1815**
In late 1960s early 1970s the pub was owned by Trumans (of London) - this may have been after Trumans bought Daniels (of Colchester)
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
(PO directory information courtesy of londonpublichouse.com)
Old pictures from http://www.foxearth.org.uk
(** historic newspaper information from Stuart Ansell)