Blyford Queen's Head
Blyford Queen's Head
Real Ale is sold here.
Southwold Rd, IP19 9JY
grid reference TM 424 767
bar / diner, opened 15th century
Picturesque thatched inn built around 15th Century with low beams & large open fireplace in bar area. The thatched roof is relatively new, having replaced one destroyed by fire in July 1988. Outside there is a large garden, children's play area and the pub ducks, chickens and pigs. Opposite the pub is the 11th Century Parish Church of All Saints Blyford. New tenants started 22nd May 2018. Oen from 10am for coffee and pastries with meals available from 1pm.
The pub sign features St Etheldreda as the Queen. Her father was King Anna (c. 636 – 654 AD) of East Anglia, who was killed in battle at nearby Burcamp.
The pub was known in the past as a smugglers' inn.
- Beer garden or other outside drinking area
- Bus stop nearby (see transport links for details)
- Dogs welcome
- Evening meals: Until 7pm
- Family friendly
- Lunchtime meals (not just snacks): From 1pm
- Pub sells beer from local brewers
- Special events
Railway station about 2.7 miles away (see transport links for details)
Nearest railway station
The pub can be seen on this old OS map from about 1903 (interactive map)
Picturesque C15th thatched inn with low beams and a large open fireplace. Good food and beer.
Beer: Adnams Mild, Bitter, Old, Seasonal Ale, Broadside.CAMRA's 1997 Suffolk Real Ale Guide
Abel Garrod, William Cullingford and Stephen Balls with three other men were charged with having broken into the dwelling house of Mr James Croft, who keeps the King’s Head, at Blythford, and had stolen various articles. Balls turned King’s evidence and corroborative evidence was sufficient to convict both Garrod and Cullingford, they were both sentenced to death. Ipswich Journal, Apr 1830**
(Most pub, location & historic details collated by Nigel, Tony or Keith - original sources are credited)
(some old PO directory information courtesy of londonpublichouse.com)
(** historic newspaper information from Stuart Ansell)